Rabies Facts Inforgraphics

Pilot Counties

The initial implementation of the strategy will be done in pilot areas to demonstrate success before scaling up to the rest of the country.

These include: SIAYA, KISUMU, MACHAKOS, KITUI AND MAKUENI. The pilot areas have been selected based on presence or absence of natural barriers e.g. water bodies, mountains which may reduce the transmission of rabies in and out of the selected areas. The first pilot area will be Lake Victoria region which includes Kisumu and Siaya counties.

These areas have natural barriers (Lake Victoria to the West and Nandi escarpment to the East). The second pilot area will be Machakos, Kitui and Makueni Counties which have no defined natural barriers but have reported high numbers of cases of human rabies..